

SMU Law Review

Volume 13 | Issue 3 Article 4

January 1959

Inter Alia

Recommended Citation

Inter Alia, 13 Sw L.J. 365 (1959) https://scholar.smu.edu/smulr/vol13/iss3/4

This Inter Alia is brought to you for free and open access by the Law Journals at SMU Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in SMU Law Review by an authorized administrator of SMU Scholar. For more information, please visit http://digitalrepository.smu.edu.

INTER ALIA

On July 1, 1959, John Wilks Riehm, Jr. officially began his tenure as Dean of the Law School. The *Journal* extends its congratulations upon his selection and expresses its hopes for a bright future for the law school under his leadership.

* * * * *

Professor Clyde Emery will soon return from his sabbatical leave in Europe and will assume his teaching duties in the fall. Associate Professor Joseph W. McKnight, recently on leave, has received his Master of Laws from Columbia University, and has returned to resume teaching at S.M.U.

Mr. Eugenio Perez-Donoso, LL.B., LL.M., will teach at the law school this fall in the capacity of Visiting Assistant Professor. Professor Perez-Donoso received his Master of Laws in Comparative Law from S.M.U. in 1954. He then returned to Chile and worked with governmental committees which were revising the taxation laws of that country. He is back at S.M.U. to complete his thesis, "Some Problems of Double Taxation of Income in the Western Hemisphere," in order to receive his Master of Laws in Taxation. Also, Professor Perez-Donoso will teach a course in Latin American Commercial Law.

Mr. William VanDercreek, B.S., J.D., LL.M., a former Sterling Fellow at Yale Law School, has become an Assistant Professor of Law at S.M.U. Professor VanDercreek is the former law clerk of Justice Martin Van Oosterhout of the United States Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit, and was previously a first lieutenant with the United States Marine Corps. He will teach Procedure and Practice Court.

* * * * *

At the "Law Day" assembly on May 1, 1959, a number of awards were made to Journal personnel. Marshall J. Doke, Jr., retiring Editor in Chief, was awarded the Vernon Law Book Company award which is given to the student who makes the outstanding contribution to the Journal. The award for the best original comment was given to Durwood Crawford. Allen Butler was the recipient of the Law Journal award given to the outstanding staff member by the officers of the Journal. The award for the best case note writing went to Larry L. Bean and Edward A. Copley, Jr.; Lester V. Baum and Cecil A. Ray, Jr. were given the awards for the best case notes in the field of Torts or Workmen's Compensation.

* * * * *

The newly elected officers of the Barristers are: Larry L. Bean, Lord Chief Baron; James Weaver Rose, Chief Baron; Gene L. McCoy, Scrivener; and Cecil A. Ray, Jr., Sergeant at Arms.