

SMU Law Review

Volume 14 | Issue 2 Article 5

January 1960

Inter Alia

Recommended Citation

Inter Alia, 14 Sw L.J. 232 (1960) https://scholar.smu.edu/smulr/vol14/iss2/5

This Inter Alia is brought to you for free and open access by the Law Journals at SMU Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in SMU Law Review by an authorized administrator of SMU Scholar. For more information, please visit http://digitalrepository.smu.edu.

INTER ALIA

The new officers of the *Journal* for the coming year were recently announced:

Editor in Chief	Richard N. Countiss
Managing Editor	David E. Varner
Recent Case Notes Editor	Larry M. Lesh
Comments Editor	Charles R. Johnson
Leading Articles Editor	Ed. G. Ruland
Business Manager	Henry Nuss III

* * * * *

At the Law Day Assembly, April 27, 1960, a number of awards were made to Journal personnel. Edward A. Copley, Jr., retiring Editor in Chief, was awarded a set of Vernon's Revised Civil Statutes Annotated by the Vernon Law Book Company, given to the student editor who makes the outstanding contribution to the Journal. Cecil A. Ray, Jr. was the recipient of the officers' award to the outstanding board member; Mr. Ray also received the Thompson, Knight, Wright & Simmons Award for the best original comment written for the Journal. The recipients for the Turner, White, Atwood, McLane & Francis Award for the best case note writing were Earldean V. S. Robbins and Charles R. Johnson. Messrs. Lester V. Baum and James Weaver Rose received the Texas Association of Plaintiff's Attorneys Award for the best comment in the field of Torts. The Kilgore and Kilgore Award for the best paper in oil and gas went to Gene L. McCov. Malcolm Lee Shaw received the Matthews, Fisher, Budd & Sands Award for the most original paper written in the field of taxation.

* * * * *

The new members of the Order of the Woolsack were named at the Law Day Assembly: Lester V. Baum, Larry L. Bean, Edward A. Copley, Jr., Tom Dean, J. Allen Dougherty, John England, Hernando Gomez, Robert M. Meyers, William M. Ravkind, and James Weaver Rose.