

SMU Law Review

Volume 17 | Issue 2 Article 5

January 1963

Inter Alia

Recommended Citation

Note, *Inter Alia*, 17 Sw L.J. 270 (1963) https://scholar.smu.edu/smulr/vol17/iss2/5

This Case Note is brought to you for free and open access by the Law Journals at SMU Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in SMU Law Review by an authorized administrator of SMU Scholar. For more information, please visit http://digitalrepository.smu.edu.

INTER ALIA

On the masthead of this issue, readers of the Journal will notice an addition-the "Advisory Board." These distinguished professors, judges, and attorneys were selected by the Board of Editors both because of their outstanding work in specific areas of the law and because of their geographic location. The main purpose of the Advisory Board is to add a perspective to our articles' selection policies—a perspective which the Editors, as students, otherwise could not obtain. The Board will fulfill their roles (1) by suggesting current legal topics which need exploration and analysis, and (2) by proposing and helping to procure individuals who are capable of writing the suggested articles or comments. With the aid of the Board, we hope to be able to expand our coverage of current problems on the local, national, and international levels.

The Journal is pleased to announce the selection of the following new officers: Editor-in-Chief, Robert Ted Enloe, III; Managing Editor, William F. Russell; Notes & Developments Editor, Samuel N. Vilches; Leading Articles Editor, Donald J. Lucas; Comments Editor, Fred J. Kolodev; Research Editor, Hellmut A. Erwing; and Business Manager, Richard M. Hull. Persons recently elected to the Board of Editors include: W. Wiley Doran, Robert W. Minshew, William L. Morrow, Harry Banker Phares, Robert Blair Rugh, and Neil M. Weatherhogg.

Six members of the second year class have been chosen by the Barristers, the honorary service organization of the Law School. Those selected were: Richard M. Hull, Fred J. Kolodey, Robert Blair Rugh, William

F. Russell, Robert L. Trimble, and Neil M. Weatherhogg. Officers of that organization for the next school year are: Lord Chief Baron, Donald J. Lucas; Lord Baron, Samuel N. Vilches; Scrivener, Robert Blair Rugh; and Sergeant at Arms, William F. Russell.

The Senior Case Club Argument, which is an appellate argument given before members of the Texas Supreme Court by the six senior students with the highest grade averages, was won this year by Byron L. Falk, Marshall G. Martin, and Robert H. Mow, Jr. They will receive the Arthur A. Everts Trophy and their choice of any one bound volume published by Vernon Law Book Company. The opposing counsel were James R. Craig, Charles Ted Raines, and Ottis Jan Tyler.

At the Student Bar Association's Awards Banquet on April 27, numerous prizes were given to persons who had achieved distinction in one or more areas. Among the awards were the following: the Morris Ernst Faculty Award (\$100 to the professor who most stimulates his students in the study of the law), Charles O. Galvin; the Vernon Law Book Company Award (a set of the "Black Statutes" to the student editor making the outstanding contribution to the Journal), Robert H. Mow, Jr.; the Thompson, Knight, Wright & Simmons Award (\$100 to the author of the best comment), James R. Craig; the Turner, Atwood, Meer & Francis Awards (two \$50 checks to the authors of the best case notes), Fred J. Kolodey and Hellmut A. Erwing; the J. Woodall Rodgers Senior Scholarship Medal (to the student with the highest average at the end

of the third year), Charles Ted Raines; the Kilgore & Kilgore Award (\$100 to the author of the best oil and gas paper), Ottis Jan Tyler; the Goldberg & Alexander Award (\$50 to the student with the highest exam grade in Creditors Rights), Charles Ted Raines; the Texas Association of Plaintiff's Attorneys Award (\$100 to the author of the best comment in the areas of Torts or Workmen's Compensation), Oliver Kelley; Wynne, McKenzie, Jaffe & Tinsley Award (\$100 and plaque to the outstanding students in the Moot Court program), William M. Boyd and Michael E. Rohde; the Russell M. Baker Award (a plaque to the winners of the First-Year Moot Court Competition), J. Rodney Brister and George L. Orndoff; the Wall Street Journal Award (a year's subscription to the student who most improves his grades in courses employing the Wall Street Journal), George C. Wiese; and the Southwestern Legal Foundation Scholarship Trophy (to the legal fraternity having the highest grade average), Phi Alpha Delta.

Persons who were selected for the Order of the Woolsack, the Law School scholastic honor society for the highest ten per cent of the graduating class, were: David Briggs, James R. Craig, Byron L. Falk, Thomas A. Howeth, Marshall G. Martin, Robert H. Mow, Jr., Gayle E. Oler, Charles Ted Raines, Ottis Jan Tyler, and Frank Weathers.