

SMU Law Review

Volume 17 | Issue 4 Article 3

January 1963

Inter Alia

Recommended Citation

Inter Alia, 17 Sw L.J. 566 (1963) https://scholar.smu.edu/smulr/vol17/iss4/3

This Inter Alia is brought to you for free and open access by the Law Journals at SMU Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in SMU Law Review by an authorized administrator of SMU Scholar. For more information, please visit http://digitalrepository.smu.edu.

INTER ALIA

On November 1, 1963, Dr. Charles O. Galvin, Professor of Law, was named Dean of the School of Law of Southern Methodist University. Dean Galvin was elected by the Southern Methodist University Board of Trustees upon recommendation of President Willis M. Tate at the Board's fall meeting. Dean Galvin, 44, succeeds John W. Riehm, who resigned as dean October 1 to accept a position as executive vice president of a New York law publishing firm.

A Dallas resident since early childhood. Dean Galvin holds the degrees of Bachelor of Science in Commerce from Southern Methodist University. Master of Business Administration and Juris Doctor (J.D.) from Northwestern University, and Doctor of the Science of Law (S.J.D.) from Harvard University. He was invited by former Dean Robert G. Storey to SMU's Law faculty in 1952 and has specialized in the fields of Oil and Gas, and Federal Taxation. Dean Galvin has taught in the law schools of Harvard University and the University of Michigan and has appeared as a lecturer at many legal institutes. He is a frequent contributor to the Southwestern Law Journal and other legal peri-

During the Eisenhower and Kennedy administrations, Treasury and Congressional Committees have consulted with Dean Galvin as a special adviser on tax policy. He presently heads the Committee on Substantive Tax Reform of the American Bar Association which plans to recommend a major restructuring of the Federal tax system. Dean Galvin is a member of the Dallas and Texas Bar Associations, the Southwestern Legal Foundation, and serves on a special tax advisory group of the

American Law Institute.

The annual law school general assembly was held on September 16, 1963. At this time, awards were presented for the previous academic year. John Johnson received the Carrington, Johnson and Stephens award for the highest first year average. The Dallas Law Wives Club Award for the second year student with the highest average went to Robert Ted Enloe. In addition, the Dallas Law Wives Club presented three students — Fred Kolodey, Thomas J. Upchurch, and Jerry McCarthy—with scholarships.

Mrs. J. Woodall Rogers presented Charles Ted Raines with the J. Woodall Rogers Senior Scholarship Medal for the highest average in the previous graduating class. H. Louis Nichols, President of the Dallas Bar Association, and Jack Weersing, President of Warlick Press, next presented the Warlick Press-Dallas Bar Association \$1000 scholarship to Robert Ted Enloe for the highest average of any student seeking a degree in June, 1964.

Hugh Hart received the Phi Alpha Delta Scholarship Award for the first year student with the greatest improvement in scholarship. The Barristers Award for the outstanding first year student was presented to Robert Gist.

Don Lucas, Lord Chief Baron, recently announced the election of five persons to the Barristers. The Barristers, a honorary service organization of fifteen, made the announcement at a reception in the home of Professor Charles Webster. Second year men selected were Robert Gist, John Johnson, and Art Hewett, all Journal invitees. Bill Rodgers and Banker Phares were the members of the third year class selected.