

## **SMU Law Review**

Volume 18 | Issue 2 Article 4

January 1964

## Inter Alia

## **Recommended Citation**

Inter Alia, 18 Sw L.J. 273 (1964) https://scholar.smu.edu/smulr/vol18/iss2/4

This Inter Alia is brought to you for free and open access by the Law Journals at SMU Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in SMU Law Review by an authorized administrator of SMU Scholar. For more information, please visit <a href="http://digitalrepository.smu.edu">http://digitalrepository.smu.edu</a>.

## **INTER ALIA**

The Journal is pleased to announce the following new officers: Editorin-Chief, John R. Johnson; Managing Editor, James W. Brennan; Notes and Development Editor, Robert C. Gist; Leading Articles Editor, Wallace M. Swanson; Comments Editor, John M. Stephenson; Research Editor, Scott Morris; and Business Manager, Arthur E. Hewett. Other students elected to the Board of Editors are: Michael T. Garrett, R. Bruce LaBoon, and Reba G. Rasor.

Seven members of the second year class have been initiated into the Barristers, the honorary service organization of the S.M.U. Law School. Those selected were: James W. Brennan, James S. Dycus, Ray A. Goodwin, R. Bruce LaBoon, Scott Morris, John M. Stephenson, and Wallace M. Swanson. Officers of the organization for the next school year are: Lord Chief Baron, Robert C. Gist; Lord Baron, Arthur E. Hewett; Scrivener, R. Bruce LaBoon; and Sergeant at Arms, James W. Brennan.

Law Day activities at the Law School were very successful this year. On May 1, 1964, the school was fortunate to have Mr. Henry Luce, former Editor-in-Chief of Time, Inc., present to speak at a breakfast for students and later at a general assembly of the students. In addition, students also heard Mr. Edward L. Wright, Chairman of the House of Delegates of the ABA, speak at a luncheon on May 1. On May 2, 1964, students attended a luncheon honoring the Texas Supreme Court and heard Justice Zollie Steakley speak.

At the Student Bar Association's Awards Banquet on May 2, 1964, numerous prizes and awards were presented to persons who had achieved distinction in one or more

areas. The following awards were presented: the Morris Ernst Faculty Award (\$100 to the professor who most stimulates his students in the study of law), A. J. Thomas, Jr.; the Vernon Law Book Company Award (a set of Vernon's Annotated Texas Statutes to the student editor making the outstanding contribution to the Journal), Robert Ted Enloe, III; the Thompson, Knight, Wright & Simmons Award (\$100 to the author of the best comment), Blair Rugh; the Turner, Atwood, Meer & Francis Award (\$50 each to the two authors of the best case notes). Robert C. Gist and John R. Johnson; the Kilgore and Kilgore Award (\$100 to the author of the best oil and gas paper), Robert Ted Enloe, III; the Goldberg and Alexander Award (\$50 to the student with the highest exam grade in Creditors Rights), John R. Johnson; the Texas Association of Plaintiff's Attorneys Award (\$100 to the author of the best comment in the area of Torts or Workman's Compensation), Neil Weatherhogg; the Texas Association of Defense Counsel Award (\$100 to the author of the best case note in area of Torts and Workmans Compensation), Arthur E. Hewett; the Wynne, Jaffe & Tinsley Moot Court Award (\$100 and a plaque to the outstanding students in the Moot Court program), David Musselwhite and Neil Weatherhogg; the Russell M. Baker Award (a plaque to the winners of the First-year Moot Court Competition), George Bramblett and Robert McCain; the Wall Street Journal Award (a year's subscription to the student who most improves his grades in courses employing the Wall Street Journal), David McLaughlin; the Johnson, Bromberg, Leeds and Riggs Award

(\$100 to the outstanding student in corporate finance courses), James H. Miller; the Student Bar Association Awards (the student making the outstanding contribution and service to the Law School), Charles Caperton and Tom Sedberry; the Journal of Air Law and Commerce Awards (to the student writing the best case note and to the student editor making the outstanding contribution to the publication), Ray Goodwin and Robert Trimble; and the Southwestern Legal Foundation Scholarship Trophy (to the legal fraternity having the highest grade average), Phi Delta Phi.

Persons who were selected for the Order of the Woolsack, the Law School scholastic society for the top ten per cent of the graduating class, were Samuel Bass; Joe Mike Egan, Jr.; Robert Ted Enloe, III; Jack Milton McAdams; James Hallyburton Miller; Farris Mitchell; William Lee Morrow; David Carroll

Musslewhite; Robert Blair Rugh; William Frederick Russell; Troy Victor Smith; Robert Lynn Trimble; Howard V. Tygrett, Jr.; and Samuel N. Vilches, Jr.

The members of the Editorial Staff have all secured places for the coming year. Dick Hull will join a firm in New York City. Hellmut Erwing is associated with a firm in Denver, Colorado, and Bill Morrow will work with the Justice Department in Washington, D.C. Those remaining with firms in Texas are: Fred Kolodey, Dallas; Sam Vilches, Dallas; Neil Weatherhogg, Irving; Blair Rugh, Dallas; Pat Weir, Fort Worth; Maridell Jantz, Dallas; Banker Phares, Port Arthur; Don Lucas, Dallas; and Ted Enloe, Dallas. Bill Russell will join the faculty at Texas Tech to teach business law. Don Nix will spend the next year in London, England on the fellowship now held by former Research Editor Marshal Martin.