

SMU Law Review

Volume 19 | Issue 3

Article 4

January 1965

Inter Alia

Recommended Citation Inter Alia, 19 Sw L.J. 566 (1965)

https://scholar.smu.edu/smulr/vol19/iss3/4

This Inter Alia is brought to you for free and open access by the Law Journals at SMU Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in SMU Law Review by an authorized administrator of SMU Scholar. For more information, please visit http://digitalrepository.smu.edu.

This issue is the first to be published by the present Board of Editors. We naturally feel humble to accept the responsibility shouldered so well by the outgoing Board. Their Products Liability Symposium marked a new high for the Journal, provoking nationwide interest and comment. For this and the rest of their excellent contribution to the history of the Journal, we congratulate them. At the same time, we are proud to take on the job of guiding the Journal through its twentieth year; we intend it to be another year of improvement. While we hope to preserve our newly-embellished national image, we also plan to increase our service to the Texas lawyer. Having thus committed ourselves, we request your help in the way of criticism and advice in order to insure the fulfillment of our obligation.

The Journal is pleased to announce the election of John W. Bickle and Ronald L. Wilkinson to the Board of Editors. In addition, thirteen second-year students have been added to the staff. They are: Michael M. Boone, James F. Carpenter, James W. Cole, Ronald A. Dubner, Gary A. Herman, Frank R. Jelinek, Frank M. Keeling, Ruth Kovnat, Michael M. Maberry, Joseph J. McCain, John M. McMullen, Marietta Maxfield, and Gerald W. Ostarch.

Jan P. Charmatz has succeeded Alan R. Bromberg as the Journal's Faculty Advisor. Professor Bromberg will be on leave of absence from the Law School during the 1966-67 academic year. We would like to express our appreciation to Professor Bromberg for his substantial contribution to the Journal during the past several years, and we look forward to working with Professor Charmatz.

The Barristers recently initiated

seven new members from the second and third-year classes. The new Barristers are: Sam P. Burford, Robert B. Davis and James H. Wallenstein, second year students, and Ronald Kessler, Anthony D. Schlesinger, Charles A. Thompson and John Micheal Webb, third year students. James H. Wallenstein was elected to succeed Carl W. McKinzie as Sergeant-at-Arms.

The following students were recipients of prizes at the annual Methodist University Southern Awards Convocation: James H. Wallenstein, The Barristers Award (to the outstanding first-year student based on scholarship and participation); Pauline Karlsberg, The Carrington, Johnson & Stephens Award (to the first-year student with the highest grade average), and The Phi Alpha Delta Award (to the firstyear student displaying the greatest overall grade average improvement between the first and second semesters); Frank W. Hill, The Dallas Lawyer's Wives Club Award (to the outstanding second year student based on scholarship and need); and John W. Bickle, first prize, and Joe M. Hill, Jr., second prize in the Nathan Burkan Memorial Competition (to the Southern Methodist University Law Students authoring the best papers in the field of copyright law).

The Student Bar Association has announced that plans are afoot to publish a Law School Yearbook. Lauralee Friis has been named as Editor, James Munger, as Assistant Editor and John Sparling, as Business Manager. The following persons will serve on the staff: Paula Carter, John Cravens Ben Kerr, Gerald Livingston, Mike Maberry, Cecil Mathis, Pete Schlumberger, and Charles Smith.