

SMU Law Review

Volume 5 | Issue 2

Article 12

January 1951

Announcements

Recommended Citation Announcements, 5 Sw L.J. 254 (1951)

https://scholar.smu.edu/smulr/vol5/iss2/12

This Front Matter is brought to you for free and open access by the Law Journals at SMU Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in SMU Law Review by an authorized administrator of SMU Scholar. For more information, please visit http://digitalrepository.smu.edu.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Seniors receiving the LL.B. degree on June 4, 1951, numbered 40. Of these, the following were elected to membership in the Order of the Woolsack: Raymond Leslie Britton, Melvin A. Bruck, Rufus Sanders Garrett, Jr., Robert R. Sanford and Dale A. Williams.

* * * *

The Fall, 1951, issue of the Southwestern Law Journal will contain articles on the law of descent and distribution in Louisiana, the Texas Certificate of Title Act and arbitration awards in labor disputes. Comments on selected topics, as well as book reviews, will be included.

* * * *

Two Institutes are planned for the Fall at the Southwestern Legal Center. The Third Annual Labor Law Institute will be held on October 5 and 6, 1951, and will be sponsored by the Southwestern Legal Foundation, the American Arbitration Association and the Labor Law Section of the Texas State Bar. The Institute will celebrate the 25th anniversary of the American Arbitration Association and will have as its theme, "Disputes Settlement in a Defense Economy."

An Institute on Personal Injury Litigation will be held on November 28-30, 1951. An outstanding array of lawyers and doctors will participate in the program.

* * * *

Officers of the Student Bar Association have been elected for 1951-1952. Selected to serve are Jim Hambright, President; Jerry N. Jordan, Vice-President; Scott McDonald, Secretary; and W. H. Fogleman, Jr., Treasurer.

Ten new members have been elected to the Barristers to replace seniors graduating in June. They are Denny L. Deere, Tom Dilworth, George S. Finley, Jim Hambright, Jerry N. Jordan, Scott McDonald, James McTaggart, Rolland T. Scales, John G. Street, Jr., and Richard S. Woods. New officers for the coming year will be Jack A. Titus, Lord Chief Baron; A. E. Collier, Chief Baron; John G. Street, Jr., Scrivener; and Denny L. Deere, Sergeant-at-Arms.